Annual General Meeting.

Sunday, November 21, 2010

Our AGM was held on Sunday last 21st November in Old Connaught. We had a good attendance and a positive meeting.  The annual report from our secretary, Frances Stephenson was excellent. Dermot O' Brien's treasurers report showed clearly that the costs of running our club are increasing every year.   There are a number of changes in personnel on the management committee for 2011. Three members of the management committee were standing down after completing their terms of office. Our outgoing chairman, Gerard Murphy had completed his three year term and his tremendous work for the club as chairman was acknowledged by all present.  A presentation was made to Gerard and his wife Anne Marie by our joint Presidents, Jackie Napier and Tom Walsh. Our Development Officer, Denis Mc Cague, who has given many  years dedication to ensure that our club has the best facilities available and Linda Wogan, our Registrar, who has transformed the process of membership  collection in the club.  Our outgoing vice chairman, Gabriel Plower  and Austin Heffernan, the Ladies Rep, were also stepping down because of work commitments. We thank Gabriel and Austin for their work during the year.     

In the clubs 125th year, the members have elected the outgoing secretary, Frances Stephenson, as our first female Chairperson.  She has been secretary for the last four years and brings that experience to the position. We wish Frances very best wishes in her new and even more demanding position.  Our new vice chairperson is Tom Walsh, a trojan worker over many years for Bray Emmets. Our new secretary is Vincent Duffy, who moves from chairman of the juvenile committee. The assistant secretary, who is also our juvenile secretary, is Anne Healy. The registrar is Hugh Connaughton, who worked with Linda Wogan for the last year on registration. Our former chairman, Gerard Murphy is Development Officer and Ray Donoghue the new Adult Games Officer.  The following positions remained unchanged, Treasurer, Dermot O' Brien, Coaching/Games Development Officer, Liam Mc Graynor, Communications, Anne Longmore.  Brian O Luain is An tOifeach Gaelige. The players rep is Will Nolan. The Ladies and Juvenile Chairpersons will be nominated by their respective committees. The two persons elected to the Code of Conduct Committee are Margaret Scanlon and John Smith.  There were a number of motions up for discussion with the 'no pay no play' membership one receiving the most discussion.  It finally looks like this small problem will be tackled.  It was great to see one of our former players, Paudi Mc Donagh, who was home from the USA on holidays, at the AGM.


There are no uncoming events listed...

  • There are no upcoming Fixtures...